New Year, New Claire?

large

Claire’s House
Westchester, NY
Sunday, February 18
7:59 PM

New Years Resolutions

  1. Bring up grade in chemistry to an A-
  2. Cut back on gummies (the horror!!!)
  3. Grow bangs out (maybe)
  4. Drink more water

Claire glanced up at the list she tacked next to her calendar. In her effort to stick with her new year’s resolutions, Claire had decreed that from 7 PM to 8 PM she would put her phone in the other room and would only work on chemistry. The class was kicking her ass and even though she was a sophomore in high school, her parents had already started looking at colleges for her and insisted that she bring her grades up. Claire didn’t completely disagree, after all there were a couple of Ivies she wouldn’t totally be against going to, but she did hate knowing that right now her friends would be texting each other about the Spring Fling and she wouldn’t be able to know which guy Alicia was thinking of going with for another…actually Claire wasn’t sure how much longer she had to study for. She looked up at her bedroom clock and almost let out a cheer. One more minute and then she would be free!!

She grinned and started to put her chemistry book as she reflected back on her life. Things had been good, busy but good. She and Cam were still as strong as ever, but the gossip about how she was the only girl who was still gushing over her middle school boyfriend was starting to get to her. She loved Cam but it was hard. High school kept them both really busy and she could feel him slowly drifting away. What made things worse was that she wasn’t sure if she wanted to reel him back in.

Unlike with Cam, high school only seemed to bring the PC closer together. Sure they were busy: Massie was a member of their school’s equestrian team and had recently become a brand ambassador for Glossip Girl and its ever expanding makeup line; Alicia was quickly taking over the journalism department with plans to expand the newspapers social media outreach; Dylan was starting yet enough diet while enjoying her life post-reality TV show; and Kristen was kicking ass on the girls’ soccer team with the National Honor Society begging her to join especially after she got her SAT score back (spoiler alert: it also kicked ass). In short, life was good but busy for all of them.

Speaking of the girls, the minute was up and Claire was finally reunited with her cell phone, which let her know she had 20 new text messages. Opening it up, she first scrolled through and opened the messages from the PC.

GROUP CHAT: THE PC BITCHES

Mass: Send pics of your dresses for the fling – we are not having a repeat of last year dyl!!

Dyl: For the last time it only happened because I spilt coffee on my original dress. And it was when we went out for coffee not a dance!!

Kris: Ignoring dyl…sounds like a plan Mass. I still need to find something

Leesh: With that in mind I call ralph for the night

Mass: Works for me.

Mass: Who are you going with?

Mass: Kuhlaire don’t answer we already know

Kris:  I think matt shepard is going to ask me…he was asking what my favorite flowers were in econ the other day

Dyl: Im trying to snag a hemsworth but I might have to settle for a sprouse

Leesh: Settle???

Leesh: If you get me the one from riverdale I’ll bring you back this weight loss spice from spain the next time I go

Mass: You don’t even watch that show

Leesh: yeah but half of the tenth grade does and I want to impress

Mass: well in that case I call dibs

Leesh: you cant call dibs I just told dyl I wanted him!!

Mass: yeah but you didn’t call dibs

Leesh: fine then I call dibs on the red head guy with the accent

Kris: and this is why high schoolers get called immature

Claire laughed and started typing up her response

Kuhlaire: I thought dibs were so elementary school mass

Mass: well theyre making a comeback. Like the sprouse twins

Claire rolled her eyes and went to check her other messages. She had two from Layne and one from Cam.

Layne:  do you have any bleach?? Im thinking of dyeing my hair either pink or purple

Layne: also what are you doing this weekend?

Trying to picture her best friend with colored hair, Claire texted back.

Claire: I don’t think we have any. How bright are you going to go? Have you told your parents?

Claire: dress shopping and dress approval for the spring fling. Date with Cam Saturday night (finally!!) then some homework. Wanna meet up for dinner Sunday?

Finally, Claire checked the message from Cam and let out a groan.

Cam: hey im sorry but I’m going to have to cancel Saturday. Rain check?

Leaving him on read, Claire opened up the PC group chat.

Kuhlaire: Cam just canceled on me. Again.

Dyl: what???
kris: when did he cancel on you the first time?

Mass: wtf

Kuhlaire: last week. We were gonna have a study date but he was busy

Leesh: did he say why.

Kuhlaire: nope

Mass: kuhlaire you deserve better

Mass: you gotta show him your better and he shouldn’t do this

Leesh: ohhh we should go out!! When was this date again?

Kuhlaire: Saturday night

Leesh: PERFECT

Leesh: we should go into the city!!

Dyl: one of my sisters was just telling me about this club its so cool

Kris: for once I might actually be able to go. No soccer game this weekend and I just made a killing at work this week

Kuhlaire: I’ll have to talk to my parents…

Mass: convince them. You got an A on your last chem test right? Tell them you need a break and that its important to celebrate your accomplishments. I have links to articles if they need proof.

Kuhalire: okay I will

Mass: great it’s a plan. NYC bitches!!

Claire grinned at her phone. New York City could be fun, plus it would help get Cam out of her mind. Now all she needed was the perfect outfit….


Hey guys!! Long time no post!!

Life is so freaking busy but I’ve been rewatching Gossip Girl and it made me really want to bring this blog back!! I don’t really have a plot line, I don’t know if anyone in the PC I’m in are active, and I don’t know how often I’ll be updating but hey I got one post up!! That’s something!!

If anyone wants to join plots or something just comment and then we’ll figure out a way to talk (RIP AIM).

Until then, thanks for reading!!

6 thoughts on “New Year, New Claire?

  1. Claire,
    Love the post! Cam seems like he’s hiding something… So happy to see some girls come back onto WordPress, I missed reading everybody’s posts. Can’t wait to see what’s going to happen in NYC! 😀

    xx

    Like

Leave a comment